BytePlus

AI-native cloud with generative video, image and speech models under one roof

Intermediate API
Screenshot of BytePlus, AI-native cloud with generative video, image and speech models under one roof

What is BytePlus?

BytePlus is an AI tool. BytePlus bundles ByteDance-lineage generative models (Seedance video, Seedream image, Seed-TTS speech), a model playground and an API platform on top of enterprise cloud infrastructure, aimed at developers and media teams building AI products rather than casual one-off users.

BytePlus is the enterprise-facing cloud arm behind some of ByteDance's production AI, packaged as a platform for teams that want to build rather than just experiment. The catalog spans generative media (Dreamina Seedance for video, Dola Seedream for image), speech (Seed-TTS and Seed-ASR with a voice replication option), and multimodal reasoning models such as Dola Seed 2.0 pro. Around those models sit the plumbing: ModelArk for hosted model access, AgentKit for agent identity, toolchains and governance, ServingKit for inference throughput, TrainingKit for model development, plus GPU compute, containers, storage and databases. Practically, there are two ways in. Creators and product teams can open the BytePlus AI Playground, pick a model such as Dreamina Seedance 2.5 or Dola Seedream 5.0 Pro, and generate directly in the browser. Developers go through the console to create an endpoint, pull API credentials and call the same models from their own applications. Seedance 2.5 is pitched at longer narrative work, with native 30-second generation and up to 50 reference assets across images, video and audio per generation, which suits storyboard and ad work more than one-shot clips. The audience is broad but skewed technical: media and marketing studios doing video and voiceover production, e-commerce teams using Kickart for marketing assets, and engineering organizations that want model access without standing up their own inference stack. Lumina covers general creator productivity. Pricing is consumption based at the model level, with image generation advertised from $0.03 per image and video from $0.05, and free image and video tokens offered to test the models. Against single-purpose tools, the draw is breadth: one account for text, vision, speech, cloud compute and agent infrastructure, with the same models proven on ByteDance's consumer apps. The trade-off is that breadth brings console navigation, region selection and usage-based billing that rewards teams with engineering capacity.

How do you use BytePlus?

  1. 1Open the AI Playground
    Start at the BytePlus AI Playground to browse the available text, vision, video and speech models without writing code.
  2. 2Pick a model and run a first generation
    Choose a model such as Dreamina Seedance 2.5 for video or Dola Seedream 5.0 Pro for images, then submit a prompt or reference assets to see output.
  3. 3Create an account and sign in to the console
    Sign up or sign in to the BytePlus console, which is where billing, endpoints and API credentials live.
  4. 4Provision an inference endpoint
    In the ModelArk area of the console, create an endpoint for the model you want to call in production and note its identifier.
  5. 5Wire the API into your application
    Follow the ModelArk documentation to authenticate requests and send prompts to your endpoint from your own code.
  6. 6Scale with serving and agent tooling
    When traffic grows, review ServingKit for inference performance and AgentKit if you need agent runtimes with identity controls.

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Generative video, image, speech and multimodal reasoning models available from a single accountAI
  • Seedance 2.5 supports native 30-second generation and up to 50 reference assets per runAI
  • Browser playground for testing models before committing to API integrationAI
  • Entry pricing advertised from $0.03 per image and $0.05 per video, with free tokens to startAI
  • Surrounding cloud stack (GPU, Kubernetes, storage, agents) covers training and serving needsAI

Cons

  • Consumption-based pricing across many products makes total cost hard to predict up frontAI
  • Full value depends on console, endpoint and API setup, so non-technical users hit a wall quicklyAI
  • Documentation is split across product pages and separate docs sites, which slows discoveryAI
  • No published list of third-party integrations on the homepage, so fit with existing tooling needs checkingAI
  • Free tokens and trial allowances are limited, and quotas are not spelled out on the homepageAI

How much does BytePlus cost?

Free trial

Free image and video tokens are offered so teams can test the generative models before paying. The homepage does not state token amounts or expiry. A console sign-up path labeled Start for free is also listed.

Learn more

Pricing

Usage-based pricing per model: image generation advertised from $0.03 per image and video from $0.05, with free image and video tokens to try the models. The homepage also mentions a coding plan starting at $10 USD for the first month. Speech and cloud products have their own billing pages; exact rates depend on the model and region selected.

Learn more

Support

Support is handled through a console work order system, with a separate contact page and sales contact route for commercial enquiries. No phone or live chat channel is listed on the homepage.

Learn more

Features

Generative media models (Dreamina Seedance 2.5 and 2.0 fast for video, Dola Seedream 5.0 Pro for image), speech models including Seed-TTS 2.0, voice replication and Seed-ASR 2.0, plus the Dola Seed 2.0 pro multimodal reasoning model. ModelArk provides hosted model access and endpoints, AgentKit covers agent identity and governance, ServingKit and TrainingKit target inference and model development, backed by GPU, compute, Kubernetes, storage and database services.

Learn more

Frequently asked questions about BytePlus

  • How much does BytePlus cost?
    Usage-based pricing per model: image generation advertised from $0.03 per image and video from $0.05, with free image and video tokens to try the models. The homepage also mentions a coding plan starting at $10 USD for the first month. Speech and cloud products have their own billing pages; exact rates depend on the model and region selected.
  • Does BytePlus offer a free trial?
    Free image and video tokens are offered so teams can test the generative models before paying. The homepage does not state token amounts or expiry. A console sign-up path labeled Start for free is also listed.
  • Does BytePlus have an API?
    Yes, BytePlus offers an API.
  • How do you use BytePlus?
    The walkthrough on this page covers 6 steps: 1. Open the AI Playground 2. Pick a model and run a first generation 3. Create an account and sign in to the console 4. Provision an inference endpoint 5. Wire the API into your application 6. Scale with serving and agent tooling.
  • What platforms does BytePlus support?
    BytePlus is available on Web App.
  • What are the limitations of BytePlus?
    Consumption-based pricing across many products makes total cost hard to predict up front. Full value depends on console, endpoint and API setup, so non-technical users hit a wall quickly. Documentation is split across product pages and separate docs sites, which slows discovery.

Status

StatusActive
Views0
Outbound clicks0
Added10/21/2026

Platforms

Web App

Pricing

FreemiumPaidSubscription